Chinese Dragon Hollyhock

Chinese Dragon Hollyhock

Hollyhocks have been a favorite flower of mine since I read about them in a beloved book I read as a teen. When I was younger than that, we used dried hollyhocks to make dolls. I wish I remembered how! This beauty was in my Aunt’s garden in Portland, Oregon. She’s a local celebrity for her immaculate gardens with dozens of different flowers, all beautifully tended. I thought this view made the flower look like the head of a dragon, with the stalk performing as the body of the beast! Taken Summer 2007.

Leave a Reply

